Home | Community Involvement | Oversight Committee

Oversight Committee

The Westside Creeks Restoration Oversight Committee consists of two co-chairs and representatives of 20 local community organizations that were approved by the San Antonio River Authority Board of Directors. The Oversight Committee meets quarterly at the San Antonio River Authority’s main office located at 100 E. Guenther (78204).


To ensure the ecosystem restoration project reflects the ideas and input of the residents and businesses in the vicinity of the creeks as well as those community-wide stakeholder groups with interest in the restoration and enhancement of the creeks: Alazán, Apache, Martinez, and San Pedro.


Westside Creeks Restoration Oversight (WCROC) Roles
  • WCROC reviews linear park plans and supports financial assistance
  • WCROC provides feedback on design of ecosystem restoration project
  • USACE provides briefings and receives feedback from WCROC
  • City of San Antonio authorizes the WCROC to provide citizen oversight in an advisory capacity to River Authority staff on the development of the projects
  •  Bexar County authorizes the WCROC to provide citizen oversight in an advisory capacity on the development of the projects
  • Attend and participate in all meetings
  • Conduct regular meetings as determined by the WCROC and River Authority staff
  • Review and advise River Authority staff on project stakeholders list
  • Review and advise River Authority staff on and project designs
  • Provide reports to San Antonio River Authority Board as needed
  • Disseminate information regarding the Westside Creeks to the organization they represent and others of their constituency


  • Robert Ramirez
  • Skye Curd

Committee Members

  • Gabriel Velasquez | Avenida Guadalupe
  • Jerry Lockey | Beacon Hill Neighborhood Association
  • Rita Maria Contreras Avery | Bexar Audubon Society
  • Mary Ann Valdez-Hernandez | Historic Westside Residents Association
  • Barbara Chavez | Los Bexareños Genealogical Society
  • Michael Lopez | Opportunity Home San Antonio
  • Christina Barbosa | Alazán Resident Council
  • Brianna Salas | Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Ramiro Gonzales | Prosper West
  • Norberto Geremy Landin | Prospect Hill Neighborhood Association
  • Charles Blank | River Aid San Antonio
  • Rick Rodriguez | San Antonio Alternative Housing
  • Patricia Seidenberger | San Antonio Conservation Society
  • Patti Radle | San Antonio Independent School District
  • Abel Ramirez | San Antonio Wheelmen
  • William “Bill” Buhrman | St. Mary’s University
  • Kamala Platt | TexasTejano.com
  • Albert Salgado | The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Erwin DeLuna | United San Antonio Pow Wow Inc.
  • Charles Oisten | Woodlawn Lake Neighborhood Association
  • VACANT | At-Large-Student